America’s Boating Course

America’s Boating Course America’s Boating Course - Start

Added : 2018-09-20 Views :2K

Download Presentation

America’s Boating Course




Download Presentation - The PPT/PDF document "America’s Boating Course" is the property of its rightful owner. Permission is granted to download and print the materials on this web site for personal, non-commercial use only, and to display it on your personal computer provided you do not modify the materials and that you retain all copyright notices contained in the materials. By downloading content from our website, you accept the terms of this agreement.



Presentations text content in America’s Boating Course

Slide1

America’s Boating Course3rd Edition

Louisiana

State

& Local RegulationsChapter 2 Section 8

1

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide2

Legal Responsibility

Federal laws set Rules to avoid collision and establish minimum equipment requirements Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries provides rules for:

Operator qualifications Additional equipment requirements

Educational requirements Boat Registration Life Jacket wearCome for the boating education … Stay for the friends 2

Slide3

Certificate of Registration

All boats with motors on Louisiana waters

LDWF issues Certificate of Registration stating registration number and two validation decalsDecals are issued for

three calendar years and expire three years from date of issuanceCertificate of Registration must be on board the boat at all timesValidation Decals - attached to each side of bow within six inches of registration number

3

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide4

Display of Decals

Numbers and letters must be…….. P

ainted or attached to each side of the forward half of the boat hull. Validation decal attached within 6 inches Of a plain block design, not less than three inches high, and of a color that will contrast with the hullVertical and plain, with space or hyphen between the prefix (LA), the numerals (1234), and suffix (AB). 4 Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide5

EducationCome for the boating education … Stay for the friends

5

Born after 1 January 1984, must complete a NASBLA approved boating education course and carry proof when operating motorboat with over 10 horsepowerMinimum age to operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC) is 16.This course is an educational foundation for your continuum of education. Boating clubs, yacht clubs and local marine agencies offer advanced education on new equipment and fun activities. Just do it!

Slide6

Life Jacket RequirementsUSCG Approved, proper size, serviceable and readily available for every person

All 16 and younger must wear on boats less than 26 ft.One

throwable on boats 16 to less than 26 ft. All on PWC must wear, preferably impact rated All on boat with hand-tiller outboard under 16 ft. ,

must wearAll being-towed in watersports must wear, preferably impact rated 6Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide7

Less than 16 feet

16 to less than 26 feet

26 to less than 40 feet 40 to less than 65 feet 65 feet and longer exceeds “Recreational boat” classification Classification of Boats

7

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide8

Required EquipmentEngine Cut-off Device – includes PWC

Motor boat, (less than 26 feet) with hand tiller outboard with over 10 horsepower designed to have or having must have cut-off switch lanyard attached to operator while underway

Fire Extinguishers – minimum numbers Mechanically powered boats (less than 26 feet)

- ONE USCG Approved Type B1 Mechanically powered boats (26 less than 40 feet – TWO Type B1 / larger boats comply Federal regsCome for the boating education … Stay for the friends 8

Slide9

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

9

32 Point Compass 360 Degrees in a circle8 principal winds (N NE E SE S SW W NW8 half winds (NNE ENE ESE SSE SSW WSW WNW NNW 16 quarter winds between the 16 winds

32 Points in 360 degree circle

Point equals 11 ¼ degrees

10 points = 112.5 deg.

Slide10

Navigation Lights

Sunset to

sunrise and restricted visibility

All boats kayak to yacht have ready at hand lantern or flashlight w/ white light to exhibit in time – avoid collision!

10

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide11

Sound Producing Devices

Class 1, 2 or 3 boats (16 to less than 65 feet) shall be provided with an efficient whistle or other sound producing mechanical device

Class 2 and 3 Boats (26 to less than 65 feet) shall be additionally provided with an efficient bell

11 Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide12

Service life: 42 Months

Visual Distress Signals

Visual Distress Signals are required on federally controlled waters.

Offshore Tidal Coastal Areas.Not required on human powered boats. (Good to have on all waters) 12

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide13

Required on gasoline inboard and stern drive engines installed after April 25, 1940

Backfire

Flame

Arrestor 13Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide14

Alcohol and Drugs - BWI

Use causes blurred vision

, poor coordination, impaired judgment, and physical reactions become slowerBWI is breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 % or greater

Criminal penalty: same as DUI. May include suspension or revocation of boating privileges and driver’s license.First time conviction of BWI up to $1000 fine and six months in jail

14

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide15

Prohibited Operations

Operating in restricted areas

Wake jumping, hull leaves water

Failure to regulate speedOperating while under the influence of drugs or alcohol

15

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide16

Regulatory Markers

16

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide17

Reciprocity

Due to the waters in western Louisiana that form a mutual border with Texas, a reciprocal agreement with Texas allows anglers fishing these specific waters to use the resident license from their home state. The boundary waters include: Caddo Lake, Toledo Bend Reservoir, Sabine River, Sabine Lake and Sabine

Pass.Find a boat ramp - http://www.fishla.org/find-boat-launch/

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends 17Fishing licenses are required for resident and non-resident anglers 16 years of age and older. However, Louisiana residents who have lived in Louisiana for one year prior to fishing and were born before June 1, 1940 are exempt from both basic and saltwater fishing licenses. License fees vary and are generally more expensive for non-residents. A great site is http://www.fishla.org/

Slide18

Proper Ventilation

Power exhaust blower and natural ventilation required for gasoline fueled enclosed engine or fuel tank

Run blower for 4

minutes and then sniff bilge before starting engine 18Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide19

Mufflers

Excessive noise can prevent vessel operator from hearing signals and voices

All vessels manufactured after January 1, 1990 must be

equipped with muffler system in good working order and in constant operation to suppress engine noise You may not remove or modify a muffler or muffling system if it results in an increased noise level 19Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide20

Avoid

diving

in:Areas already occupied by boaters

Narrow channelsBoaters give at least 100 feet clearanceDiving/Snorkeling Flags

20

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide21

Towing RequirementsBoat Or PWC

No skiing or towing between sunset and sunrise

PFD required for towed personBoat towing must be rated for 3 persons, observer or equipped with wide-angle convex mirror at least 7

by 14 inches viewing towPWC towing must have observer

21

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide22

Environmental Protection

Pollution

regulations – nothing overboard!

Placard required on boats greater than 26 feet

22Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide23

Oil/Fuel Spills

Spills: Thimble of fuel or more should be reported:

Placard displayed for vessels >26’Fines

up to $10,000 23 Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide24

Trailer boaters should remove visible mud, plants, fish or animals from boats and trailers prior to transport to another body of water.

Scrape any mussels from boat or outdrive, and flush hull, bilges & water holding compartments with hot water (at least 120

º F). Do not release plants or fish, including bait, into a body of water unless it came out of that same body of water.

To prevent the spread of non-native fish and mollusks in our waterways, boaters should follow these simple rules:Aquatic Nuisances 24Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide25

Pump fresh water through engines before leaving the area.

Empty water out of kayaks, canoes, rafts, etc. Let boat, PWC's, trailer and equipment dry for at least 5 days.

Aquatic Nuisances

25Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide26

EmergenciesCome for the boating education … Stay for the friends

26

Follow the Rules, maintain continuous lookout at safe speeds and brief all aboard before leaving the dock on procedures and responsibilitiesAll aboard should know the plan for responding to accidents. Most accidents occur on clear day with calm winds and watersRun aground? Turn off the engine and ensure all have on their life jackets. Shift weight from impact point, and lift the engine outdrive to prevent engine damage

Slide27

EmergenciesCome for the boating education … Stay for the friends

27

The captain’s pre-sail briefing includes providing USCG approved lifejackets for the intended boating. It should be tried on, fasteners adjusted and check for proper size. It should be worn, but must be readily accessible. Wearing life jackets can reduce the major cause of boating fatalities – falling overboard and drowning.Falling overboard contributes to death from cold water immersion leads to hypothermia since the body loses heat 25 time faster in water than in air.

Slide28

Boating Accidents

Stop and provide assistance; exchange information

Accident reports involving death, missing persons, or medical treatment beyond first aid must be reported immediately by the most prompt means of communications

If vessel is lost, or damage is over $500,Report must be filed within 5 dayshttp://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/pageboating/31696-boating-incident-reporting/biroperatorreport-09-2010_0.pdf

28

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide29

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries law enforcement may stop

and board your vessel

Yield right of way, stop vessel and stay in position until police have passed

Report missing/overdue boaters, boat crash incident or report violations to 1-800 442 2511Enforcement 29 Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends

Slide30

End Chapter 2

30

Come for the boating education … Stay for the friends


About DocSlides
DocSlides allows users to easily upload and share presentations, PDF documents, and images.Share your documents with the world , watch,share and upload any time you want. How can you benefit from using DocSlides? DocSlides consists documents from individuals and organizations on topics ranging from technology and business to travel, health, and education. Find and search for what interests you, and learn from people and more. You can also download DocSlides to read or reference later.
Youtube